29th Dec 2012

RCoA Awards and Prizes: December 2012

December saw a number of applications approved for prestigious awards and prizes designed by the Royal College of Anaesthetists to encourage research in anaesthesia, critical care and pain management.

The eponymous Macintosh Professorship was awarded to Dr Tim Cook and Dr Suellen Walker for one year. Both individuals will be invited to present a lecture at a forthcoming College event where they will be formally presented with their awards.

The Maurice Hudson Essay Prize went to Dr Tariq Husain, for his article Strategies to prevent airway complications: a survey of adult intensive care units in Australia and New Zealand published in the British Journal of Anaesthesia,108 (5): 800-6 (2012).

The President's Award for Undergraduate Research was awarded at the Anaesthetic Research Society's Winter Meeting on 14 December, and the judges were delighted to be able to award prizes in both clinical and non-clinical categories.

Details about how to apply for the above prizes as well as the small research, education and travel grants will be uploaded to the NIAA website in the new year.

Share this :