Quality Audit and Research Coordinators (QuARCs)

QuARC 2019 Square

The HSRC has established a network of local Quality Audit and Research Coordinators (QuARCs) within every Trust to be a single point of contact for national audits, quality improvement projects, multi-centre research and other academic issues.

The QuARC network facilitates the HSRC's aim to be the 'glue' between clinical anaesthesia and the research agenda through the comprehensive audit of perioperative care, national quality improvement initiatives and the maintenance of a network of active engaged clinician researchers.

In the spreadsheet below you can find a list of the names of current QuARCs. See Database above to contact QuARCs:
 HSRC QuARC List - 2022.02.17.xlsx (26 KB)

 QuARC Job Description (211 KB)
 QuARC Charter (31 KB)

Trusts Without QuARCs

We are currently looking for QuARCs in the following 31 Trusts/Health Boards or Hospitals. If you are based at one of these organisations and would like to be a QuARC, please speak to your Clinical Director and contact the HSRC Coordinator (see Contact Us page for details).

Channel Islands

  • States of Guernsey
  • States of Jersey


  • Ashford and St Peter's Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Basildon and Thurrock University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Doncaster and Bassetlaw Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • East Cheshire NHS Trust
  • East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Frimley Health NHS Foundation Trust
  • George Eliot Hospital NHS Trust
  • Liverpool Women's NHS Foundation Trust
  • Mid Essex Hospital Services NHS Trust
  • Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust
  • North Middlesex University Hospital NHS Trust
  • North Tees and Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust
  • Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Trust
  • Somerset Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
  • Southend University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • The Robert Jones and Agnes Hunt Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust
  • University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust
  • University Hospitals of North Midlands NHS Trust
  • Weston Area Health NHS Trust
  • Whittington Health NHS Trust
  • Wirral University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh NHS Foundation Trust

Isle of Man

  • Isle of Man Department of Health and Social Services

Northern Ireland
There are no Trusts without a QuARC in Northern Ireland


  • NHS Dumfries and Galloway
  • NHS Forth Valley
  • NHS Orkney
  • NHS Western Isles


  • Powys Teaching Health Board

This list was last updated 20th February 2019.